June 2010

recommended summer reads: the blessings of the animals

  • About the author EB
  • June 07, 2010

Sometimes I read our books months and months before they come out, and sometimes I’m catching up just a few weeks before on-sale. Though the former is undoubtedly better for my job, the only bad thing about it is that then I’m often bursting with anticipation, telling anyone who will listen about a book that they can’t read for months!

That’s the case with Katrina Kittle’s The Blessings of the Animals. It goes on sale in early August, but I read it in early January, partly because I enjoyed meeting Katrina so much in December that I NEEDED to know if her writing was as fun as she was. If I had hated the book, I’m pretty sure it would have broken my heart.

Luckily, I loved it. The Blessings of the Animals is the story of Cami, a veterinarian coming to terms with her divorce with the help of everyone around her: her daughter, her parents, her gay brother, her friends, her cat, her dog, her goat, and her horse. Of course, as an animal lover, that last part appealed to me very much. Here’s Katrina talking a bit more about animals:

Stay tuned for more about Katrina and about Blessings!

book blogger contact list

  • About the author EB
  • June 03, 2010

Note: updated 9/23/10!

We gave out a sheet with all this info at the Book Blogger Convention, but we thought it might be useful for those of you who couldn’t make it as well!

Want to review a book published by HarperCollins? Talk to these people!

And view all our upcoming titles at HarperCollinsCatalogs.com.

Harper Perennial:
Erica Barmash, erica.barmash AT harpercollins DOT com,
@harperperennial on twitter

@ericabrooke on twitter (for more musings about books, cats, tv, and Chipotle)

Harper Paperbacks:
Mary Sasso, mary.sasso AT harpercollins DOT com,
@maryrsasso on twitter

Avon A
Until the end of 2010, contact Mary Sasso (see above)
2011 and beyond, contact Shawn Nicholls (see below)

It Books:
Jeremy Cesarec, jeremy.cesarec AT harpercollins DOT com
@itbooks on twitter

William Morrow, Eos, and Avon mass market:
Shawn Nicholls, shawn.nicholls AT harpercollins DOT com

Harper (hardcover)
Mark Ferguson, mark.ferguson AT harpercollins DOT com, @harperbooks on twitter

Harper Teen:
Arianna Heintz, arianna.heintz AT harpercollins DOT com

Balzer and Bray:
Laura Kaplan, laura.kaplan AT harpercollins DOT com

Greenwillow:
Melissa Bruno, melissa.bruno AT harpercollins DOT com

the coolest printer ever

  • About the author EB
  • June 02, 2010

We should get one of these for the Harper Perennial offices:

dog dance

  • About the author EB
  • June 01, 2010

At BEA, someone asked our online marketing manager why there are so many cats on the olive reader. The answer is: because we like them. But we like dogs too! Those of you who think there are too many cats on this blog, this one’s for you!

the first page, a new video series from harper academic

  • About the author EB
  • June 01, 2010

Our friends at Harper Academic have started a new video series with Thomas Foster, the author of How to Read Literature Like a Professor, focusing on the first pages of classic novels. The first installment features To Kill a Mockingbird:

Page 2 of 2 pages     <  1 2